Biden Creates Covid-19 Taskforce


On Saturday, November 7, 2020, Joseph Robinette Biden officially surpassed 270 electoral votes and was chosen to be the 46th president of the United States of America.
He won with 81 million votes: the most cast for any presidential election in the nation’s history.
President-elect Biden will assume office on January 20, 2021.
President-elect Biden’s running mate, and now Vice President-elect, Kamala Harris, has also made history.
Vice President-elect Harris is the first female, Black, and Indian American vice president of the United States.
Not long after his monumental win, President-elect Biden got to work creating his Covid-19 taskforce.
The Covid-19 pandemic continues to increase rapidly in the United States, and people are desperate for a solution. Many are hopeful that President-elect Biden’s newly assembled task force will help alleviate the virus.
However, there is one crucial question: who are the individuals that are going to help?
The three co-chairs for this group are Dr. Vivek Murthy, a former surgeon general for the U.S.; Dr. Marcella Nunez-Smith, a physician and researcher from Yale; and David Kessler, a former Food and Drug Administration (FDA) commissioner.
The other contributing members of the task force include:
Rick Bright: A former BARDA (Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority) director
Luciana Borio: A former assistant commissioner for the FDA
Atul Gawande: A professor of surgery at Brigham and Women’s hospital
Zeke Emanuel: A former health policy advisor for the Obama administration
Julie Morita: A former public health commissioner for the city of Chicago
Eric Goosby: A global AIDS coordinator under former President Barack Obama and also a professor of medicine at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine.
Michael Osterholm: Director at Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis
Robert Rodriguez: A professor of emergency medicine at the University of California San Francisco School of Medicine
Loyce Pace: Executive director of the Global Health Council
Celine Grounder: A clinical assistant professor of medicine and infectious diseases at Grossman School of Medicine at New York University.
Rebecca Katz: Director of the Center for Global Health Science and Security at Georgetown University Medical Center.
Beth Cameron: Former director for global health security/biodefense on the White House National Security Council under former President Barack Obama.